sandscapes
Circles. Time. An ironic introspective exchange with the public.
An empty black circle. A pendulum draws a fragile spiral of white sand. Movement creates patterns, patterns become images, images intertwine, layer beyond layer, regenerating through cycles of destruction and renewed motion. Echoes of the Circus ring where danger and vulnerability are real. Nowhere to hide. Nothing lacking.
© tim ott
Ueli Hirzel
A few decades ago, Ueli Hirzel was a circus acrobat, a tightrope walker. Then he went behind the scenes and created an open space for emerging artists in his Château de Monthelon in France. With Hirzels support, numerous successful and groundbreaking productions were created outside the mainstream circus scene. Today, Ueli Hirzel no longer performs acrobatic feats when he arrives on stage. He uses a few brooms to reveal a kind of essence of circus, or even a reflection of life itself.
„He provokes a dialogue with the public based on radical wisdom born from a lifetime of experience. The truth is that Hirzel appears as anything but old, especially when he argues with himself and the audience.“
— Ursula Huber
© tim ott
press
„It's not a mandala — but it's still beautiful“ : The Cirqu' ‐ Festival takes you back to the origins of the circus.
The circus has Aarau in its grip. World‐class artists perform in the streets, squares and halls. Ueli Hirzel is a quiet surprise among them.
The pendulum paints one circle inside the other. The sand trickles out of a small, black bag onto the floor; it takes its time. Viewed from above, one „O“ nestles into the next, constant and persistent, like the collective „Om“ before the yoga class.
„Sandscapes“ is the name of the piece by circus maker Ueli Hirzel that officially opens this year's Cirqu'‐Festival. There have already been circus teasers in the town by Johann Le Guillerm, who is performing several productions in this edition. Festival director Roman Müller: „At Cirqu' we see big action, but the beginning is small.“ This is not an evaluation, rather that the opening piece leads back to the origins of the circus: to the circle — to the ring. Müller could not have chosen the opening piece more precisely.
© tim ott
With the lawn mower through the Zen garden
Ueli Hirzel has now painted an incredible carousel with his pendulum in the middle of the Old Riding Hall. He strokes the sand, leaving traces almost like in a Buddhist Zen Garden No artistic stunts, no breakneck acrobatics. Through his calmness and concentration Hirzel shows the audience the presence so essential to every Circus performance.
The patterns Hirzel sketches in the sand with a mop and scrubbing brush become ever wilder. Swirls become lines that wind into sprawling squiggles. „It's not a mandala, but it's still beautiful,“ Hirzel comments. Where will it lead? „We'll see, this is a premiere after all,“ he muses further. Chance is painting itself. Soon he is wielding two brooms simultaneously — one on the left, one on the right — as if he were plowing through the Zen Garden with a lawn mower.
„Everything is real in the ring.“
Ueli Hirzel has been standing in rings since the 1980s, letting visions of circus dance across ropes and stumbling over them as a poetic clown. He draws the circle for the ring with the confidence of a knife thrower aiming his blade just past his wife's carotid artery for the 500th time. His original goal was to be on the theatre stage, but he found his way to the circus because: „Nothing is « as if », but everything is real.“
It is simply beautiful to watch Hirzel going round and around and to follow his circles of thought. He quotes famous philosophers such as Marcel Proust ( „In Search of Lost Time“ ) and Mick Jagger ( „Time Is On My Side“ ) and weaves thoughts from a 45‐year theatre career in between. Yes, it may be a small, quiet prelude to the Circus Festival, but it allows you to see deep into the circus soul.
— Anna Raymann
Aargauer Zeitung, 19. Juni 2023
tour
2023
15. ‐ 25. june, Festival für aktuelle Zirkuskunst, Aarau ( CH )
16. ‐ 26. august, Paula Interfestial, St. Gallen ( CH )
13. ‐ 24. september, Atoll Festival, Karlsruhe ( DE )
2024
12. ‐ 13. january, Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Tour in planning.
requirements
— Solo Performance, 50 minutes.
— Playing surface: circle 8 meters in diameter, smooth dark finish ( eg. dance floor ).
— Playing area: At least 5 meters of room height. Preference for circular or bi‐frontal audience. As most of the performance takes place on the floor, it is advantageous for visibility if the audience is slightly elevated. Any additional rows of seats must be higher than the one in front.
— Hanging point: Between 4.50 and 5.50 meters high, anchored for a pendulum of 10kg.
— Light: Circle 8 meters. To be defined according to the venue.
— No sound.
— Number of spectators: Depending on the venue.
— Set up four hours ( without lights ).
— Arrival one day before first show.
contact
Ueli Hirzel



idea and performer: Ueli Hirzel
artistic collaboration: Paula Riquelme ‐ Orbanes
technical consulting and assistance: Daniel Ott & Tim Ott
photography and webdesign: Tim Ott

created at:

Château de Monthelon, Montréal ( FR )
Kulturfabrik, Wetzikon ( CH )
Monopol, Berlin ( DE )
Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Deutsch — English — Francais
© tim ott

sandscapes
Le temps. Les cercles. Un échange introspectif ironique avec le public.
Un rond noir vide. Un pendule dessine une fine spirale de sable blanc. Le mouvement crée des motifs, ceux‐ci deviennent des images. Les images s'entrelacent, l'une se superpose à l'autre: Disparition et apparition. La ronde; écho de la piste de cirque, où le danger et la vulnérabilité sont réels. Rien ne peut être caché. Tout est là.
© tim ott
Ueli Hirzel
Il y a longtemps, Ueli Hirzel était acrobate de cirque, plus précisément funambule. Puis il a commencé à travailler en coulisses et a créé dans son Château de Monthelon en France un espace de liberté pour les artistes émergents. Avec le soutien de Hirzel, de nombreuses mises en scène novatrices et couronnées de succès ont vu le jour en dehors du courant dominant. Aujourd'hui, Ueli Hirzel ne fait plus de grandes contorsions lorsqu'il monte sur scène. Il prend quelques balais avec lui et nous montre une sorte de quintessence de la vie circassienne. Ou de la vie en elle‐même?
„On pourrait l'appeler sagesse radicale de l'âge. Même si Hirzel semble tout sauf vieux lorsqu'il discute avec lui‐même et avec le public.“
— Ursula Huber
© tim ott
presse
„Ce n'est pas un mandala — mais c'est quand même beau“ : le festival Cirqu' mène aux origines du cirque.
Le cirque a la main mise sur Aarau. Des artistes de classe mondiale investissent les rues, les places et les salles. Parmi eux, Ueli Hirzel est une discrète surprise.
Le pendule dessine un cercle dans l'autre. Le sable ruisselle du petit sac noir sur le sol, cela prend du temps. Vu d'en haut, un „O“ s'insère dans le suivant, constant et persévérant comme lors du „Om“ collectif avant le cours de yoga.
„Sandscapes“ est le nom de la pièce du circassien Ueli Hirzel, qui ouvre officiellement le festival Cirqu' de cette année. Auparavant, la ville avait déjà accueilli des échantillons circassiens de Johann Le Guillerm, qui présente plusieurs productions dans cette édition. Le directeur du festival Roman Müller: „Au Cirqu', nous voyons de grandes actions, mais le début est petit.“ Ce n'est pas un jugement de valeur, la pièce d'ouverture nous ramène plutôt aux origines du cirque: au cercle — à la piste. Müller n'aurait donc pas pu choisir une pièce d'ouverture plus précise.
© tim ott
Avec la tondeuse à gazon à travers le jardin zen.
Ueli Hirzel a peint un tel manège avec son pendule au milieu de la „Alte Reithalle“. Avec différents balais, il parcourt le sable, laissant derrière lui des traces presque comme dans un jardin zen bouddhiste. Pas de cascades artistiques, pas d'acrobaties à couper le souffle. Calme et concentration: ce qui vaut pour les circassiens, le public l'apprend aujourd'hui.
Les motifs que Hirzel esquisse dans le sable à l'aide d'un frottoir et d'une serpillière sont de plus en plus sauvages. Les tourbillons se transforment en lignes qui s'enroulent en volutes exubérantes. „Ce n'est pas un mandala, mais c'est quand même beau“, commente Hirzel. Où cela mène‐t‐il ? „Nous verrons bien, c'est une première“, poursuit‐il. Le hasard fait bien les choses. Bientôt, il manie deux balais en même temps ‐ l'un à gauche, l'autre à droite ‐ comme s'il labourait le jardin zen avec une tondeuse à gazon.
„Sur la piste, tout est réel.“
Ueli Hirzel est sur les pistes depuis les années 80, il a fait danser des visions de cirque sur des cordes et a trébuché dessus en tant que clown poétique. Il dessine le cercle pour la piste avec l'assurance d'un lanceur de couteaux qui, pour la 500e fois, vise avec sa lame juste à côté de la carotide de sa femme. Son objectif initial était la scène de théâtre, il a découvert le cirque parce que „rien n'est « comme si », mais tout est réel“.
Il est tout simplement agréable de voir Hirzel tourner en rond, de suivre le fil de ses pensées. Il cite des philosophes célèbres comme Marcel Proust ( „A la recherche du temps perdu“ ) et Mick Jagger ( „Time Is On My Side“ ) et tisse entre eux des pensées issues de ses 45 ans de carrière théâtrale. Oui, il s'agit peut‐être d'un petit prélude silencieux au festival du cirque, mais il permet de voir en profondeur l'âme du cirque.
— Anna Raymann
Aargauer Zeitung, 19. Juni 2023
tournée
2023
15. ‐ 25. Juin, Festival für aktuelle Zirkuskunst, Aarau ( CH )
16. ‐ 26. Août, Paula Interfestial, St. Gallen ( CH )
13. ‐ 24. Septembre, Atoll Festival, Karlsruhe ( DE )
2024
12. ‐ 13. Janvier, Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Tournée en cours.
conditions
— Performance en solo, 50 minutes.
— Surface de jeu: 8 mètres de diamètre, revêtement fin, sombre et lisse ( p. ex. tapis de danse, mais non contraignant ).
— Lieu de jeu: au moins 5 mètres de hauteur de salle. Préférence pour le public en rond ou en bi‐frontale. Comme la plupart du jeu se passe au sol il est préférable pour la visibilité que le public soit assis légèrement en hauteur. Toute rangée de sièges supplémentaire éventuelle doit être plus haute que celle qui la précède.
— Point de suspension: entre 4.50 et 5.50 mètres. Hauteur haubanée pour un pendule de 10kg.
— Lumière: un cercle de 8 mètres — à définir selon le lieu de jeu.
— Pas de son.
— Nombre de spectateurs: selon le lieu de jeu.
— Montage 1 service hors lumières.
— Arrivage la veille de la première représentation.
contact
Ueli Hirzel



idée, réalisation et acteurs: Ueli Hirzel
collaboration artistique: Paula Riquelme ‐ Orbanes
conseil et accompagnement technique: Daniel Ott & Tim Ott
photographie et conception de sites web: Tim Ott

crée au:

Château de Monthelon, Montréal ( FR )
Kulturfabrik, Wetzikon ( CH )
Monopol, Berlin ( DE )
Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

DeutschEnglish — Francais
© tim ott