sandscapes
Circles. Time. An ironic introspective exchange with the public.
An empty black circle. A pendulum draws a fragile spiral of white sand. Movement creates patterns, patterns become images, images intertwine, layer beyond layer, regenerating through cycles of destruction and renewed motion. Echoes of the Circus ring where danger and vulnerability are real. Nowhere to hide. Nothing lacking.
© tim ott
Ueli Hirzel
A few decades ago, Ueli Hirzel was a circus acrobat, a tightrope walker. Then he went behind the scenes and created an open space for emerging artists in his Château de Monthelon in France. With Hirzels support, numerous successful and groundbreaking productions were created outside the mainstream circus scene. Today, Ueli Hirzel no longer performs acrobatic feats when he arrives on stage. He uses a few brooms to reveal a kind of essence of circus, or even a reflection of life itself.
„He provokes a dialogue with the public based on radical wisdom born from a lifetime of experience. The truth is that Hirzel appears as anything but old, especially when he argues with himself and the audience.“
— Ursula Huber
© tim ott
press
„It's not a mandala — but it's still beautiful“ : The Cirqu' ‐ Festival takes you back to the origins of the circus.
The circus has Aarau in its grip. World‐class artists perform in the streets, squares and halls. Ueli Hirzel is a quiet surprise among them.
The pendulum paints one circle inside the other. The sand trickles out of a small, black bag onto the floor; it takes its time. Viewed from above, one „O“ nestles into the next, constant and persistent, like the collective „Om“ before the yoga class.
„Sandscapes“ is the name of the piece by circus maker Ueli Hirzel that officially opens this year's Cirqu'‐Festival. There have already been circus teasers in the town by Johann Le Guillerm, who is performing several productions in this edition. Festival director Roman Müller: „At Cirqu' we see big action, but the beginning is small.“ This is not an evaluation, rather that the opening piece leads back to the origins of the circus: to the circle — to the ring. Müller could not have chosen the opening piece more precisely.
© tim ott
With the lawn mower through the Zen garden
Ueli Hirzel has now painted an incredible carousel with his pendulum in the middle of the Old Riding Hall. He strokes the sand, leaving traces almost like in a Buddhist Zen Garden No artistic stunts, no breakneck acrobatics. Through his calmness and concentration Hirzel shows the audience the presence so essential to every Circus performance.
The patterns Hirzel sketches in the sand with a mop and scrubbing brush become ever wilder. Swirls become lines that wind into sprawling squiggles. „It's not a mandala, but it's still beautiful,“ Hirzel comments. Where will it lead? „We'll see, this is a premiere after all,“ he muses further. Chance is painting itself. Soon he is wielding two brooms simultaneously — one on the left, one on the right — as if he were plowing through the Zen Garden with a lawn mower.
„Everything is real in the ring.“
Ueli Hirzel has been standing in rings since the 1980s, letting visions of circus dance across ropes and stumbling over them as a poetic clown. He draws the circle for the ring with the confidence of a knife thrower aiming his blade just past his wife's carotid artery for the 500th time. His original goal was to be on the theatre stage, but he found his way to the circus because: „Nothing is « as if », but everything is real.“
It is simply beautiful to watch Hirzel going round and around and to follow his circles of thought. He quotes famous philosophers such as Marcel Proust ( „In Search of Lost Time“ ) and Mick Jagger ( „Time Is On My Side“ ) and weaves thoughts from a 45‐year theatre career in between. Yes, it may be a small, quiet prelude to the Circus Festival, but it allows you to see deep into the circus soul.
— Anna Raymann
Aargauer Zeitung, 19. Juni 2023
tour
2023
15. ‐ 25. june, Festival für aktuelle Zirkuskunst, Aarau ( CH )
16. ‐ 26. august, Paula Interfestial, St. Gallen ( CH )
13. ‐ 24. september, Atoll Festival, Karlsruhe ( DE )
2024
12. ‐ 13. january, Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Tour in planning.
requirements
— Solo Performance, 50 minutes.
— Playing surface: circle 8 meters in diameter, smooth dark finish ( eg. dance floor ).
— Playing area: At least 5 meters of room height. Preference for circular or bi‐frontal audience. As most of the performance takes place on the floor, it is advantageous for visibility if the audience is slightly elevated. Any additional rows of seats must be higher than the one in front.
— Hanging point: Between 4.50 and 5.50 meters high, anchored for a pendulum of 10kg.
— Light: Circle 8 meters. To be defined according to the venue.
— No sound.
— Number of spectators: Depending on the venue.
— Set up four hours ( without lights ).
— Arrival one day before first show.
contact
Ueli Hirzel



idea and performer: Ueli Hirzel
artistic collaboration: Paula Riquelme ‐ Orbanes
technical consulting and assistance: Daniel Ott & Tim Ott
photography and webdesign: Tim Ott

created at:

Château de Monthelon, Montréal ( FR )
Kulturfabrik, Wetzikon ( CH )
Monopol, Berlin ( DE )
Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Deutsch — English — Francais
© tim ott

sandscapes
Zeit. Kreise. Ein ironischer introspektiver Austausch mit dem Publikum.
Ein schwarzes Rund. Ein Pendel zeichnet eine feine Spirale aus weissem Sand. Die Bewegung schafft Muster, diese werden zu Bildern. Die Bilder verschlingen sich, eines legt sich über das andere: Verschwinden und Erscheinen. Das Rund als Echo der Zirkusmanege, wo Gefahr und Verletzlichkeit wirklich sind. Nichts lässt sich verbergen. Alles ist da.
© tim ott
Ueli Hirzel
Vor langer Zeit war Ueli Hirzel Zirkusakrobat, genau genommen Seiltänzer. Dann begann er, hinter der Kulisse zu arbeiten und schuf in seinem Château de Monthelon in Frankreich einen Freiraum für aufstrebende Künstlerinnen und Künstler. Mit Hirzels Unterstützung entstanden zahlreiche erfolgreiche und wegweisende Inszenierungen abseits des Mainstreams. Heute macht Ueli Hirzel keine grossen Verrenkungen mehr, wenn er die Bühne betritt. Er nimmt ein paar Besen mit und zeigt uns eine Art Essenz des zirzensischen Lebens. Oder des Lebens an sich?
„Radikale Altersweisheit möchte man es nennen. Auch wenn Hirzel alles andere als alt rüberkommt, wenn er da mit sich selbst und dem Publikum räsoniert.“
— Ursula Huber
© tim ott
Presse
„Das ist kein Mandala — aber trotzdem schön“ : Das Cirqu' ‐ Festival führt zu den Ursprüngen des Zirkus.
Der Zirkus hat Aarau im Griff. Weltklasse‐Artisten und ‐Artistinnen bespielen Strassen, Plätze und Hallen. Ueli Hirzel ist unter ihnen eine leise Überraschung.
Das Pendel malt einen Kreis in den anderen. Der Sand rieselt aus dem kleinen, schwarzen Sack auf den Boden, das dauert seine Zeit. Von oben betrachtet, schmiegt sich ein „O“ in das nächste, konstant und ausdauernd wie beim kollektiven „Om“ vor der Yoga‐Stunde.
„Sandscapes“ heisst das Stück von Zirkusmacher Ueli Hirzel, das offiziell das diesjährige Cirqu'‐Festival eröffnet. Bereits vorab gab es in der Stadt zirzensische Kostproben von Johann Le Guillerm, der in dieser Ausgabe mehrere Produktionen zeigt. Festivalleiter Roman Müller: „Am Cirqu' sehen wir grosse Aktionen, der Anfang aber ist klein.“ Eine Wertung ist das nicht, vielmehr führt das Eröffnungsstück an die Ursprünge des Zirkus zurück: zum Kreis — zur Manege. Präziser hätte Müller das Eröffnungsstück also nicht wählen können.
© tim ott
Mit dem Rasenmäher durch den Zen ‐ Garten
Eine solche Manege hat Ueli Hirzel nun mit seinem Pendel mitten in die Alte Reithalle gemalt. Mit verschiedenen Besen streift er über den Sand, hinterlässt Spuren fast wie in einem buddhistischen Zen‐Garten. Kein artistischer Stunt, keine halsbrecherische Akrobatik. Ruhe und Konzentration: Was für Zirkusmacher gilt, lernt heute das Publikum.
Immer wilder werden die Muster, die Hirzel mit Schrubber und Mopp in den Sand skizziert. Aus Wirbel werden Linien, die sich zu ausufernden Schnörkeln winden. „Das ist kein Mandala, aber schön ist es trotzdem“, kommentiert Hirzel. Wohin es führt? „Wir werden sehen, das ist schliesslich eine Premiere“, sinniert er weiter. Der Zufall malt mit. Bald führt er zwei Besen gleichzeitig — einen links, einen rechts — , als pflüge er mit einem Rasenmäher durch den Zen‐Garten.
„In der Manege ist alles echt.“
Ueli Hirzel steht seit den 80er‐Jahren in Manegen, liess Zirkusvisionen über Seile tanzen und stolperte über sie als poetischer Clown. Den Kreis für die Manege zeichnet er mit dem Selbstvertrauen eines Messerwerfers, der zum 500. Mal mit der Klinge knapp an der Halsschlagader seiner Frau vorbeizielt. Ursprüngliches Ziel war die Theaterbühne, zum Zirkus fand er, weil: „Nichts « als ob », dafür alles echt ist.“
Es ist schlicht schön, Hirzel beim Kreisen zuzusehen, seinen Gedankenkreisen zu folgen. Er zitiert berühmte Philosophen wie Marcel Proust ( „Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit“ ) und Mick Jagger ( „Time Is On My Side“ ) und webt Gedanken aus einer 45‐jährigen Theaterkarriere dazwischen. Ja, es mag ein kleiner, leiser Auftakt für das Zirkusfestival sein, doch er lässt tief in die Zirkusseele blicken.
— Anna Raymann
Aargauer Zeitung, 19. Juni 2023
Tournée
2023
15. ‐ 25. Juni, Festival für aktuelle Zirkuskunst, Aarau ( CH )
16. ‐ 26. August, Paula Interfestial, St. Gallen ( CH )
13. ‐ 24. September, Atoll Festival, Karlsruhe ( DE )
2024
12. ‐ 13. Januar, Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Weitere Gastspiele in Arbeit.
Voraussetzungen
— Solo Performance, 50 Minuten.
— Spielfläche: 8 Meter Durchmesser, feiner dunkler glatter Belag ( z.B. Tanzteppich, aber nicht bindend ).
— Spielort: Mind. 5 Meter Raumhöhe. Bevorzugt Publikum im Rund oder Bi‐Frontal. Da sich viel am Boden abspielt, ist es für die Sichtbarkeit von Vorteil, wenn das Publikum leicht erhöht sitzt. Jede mögliche weitere Sitzreihe muss höher sein als die davor.
— Hängepunkt: Zwischen 4.50 und 5.50 Metern. Höhe abgesegelt für ein Pendel von 10kg.
— Licht: Ein Kreis 8 Meter, am Spielort zu definieren.
— Kein Sound.
— Anzahl der Zuschauer: je nach Spielort.
— Aufbau / Einrichten 4 Stunden ( ohne Licht ).
— Anreise ein Tag vor der ersten Vorstellung.
Kontakt
Ueli Hirzel



Idee, Realisierung und Darsteller: Ueli Hirzel
Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Paula Riquelme ‐ Orbanes
Technische Beratung und Begleitung: Daniel Ott & Tim Ott
Fotografie und Webdesign: Tim Ott

Erarbeitet in:

Château de Monthelon, Montréal ( FR )
Kulturfabrik, Wetzikon ( CH )
Monopol, Berlin ( DE )
Pfefferbergtheater, Berlin ( DE )

Deutsch — EnglishFrancais
© tim ott